Elliott Lupp - Composer

 Elliott Lupp

Composer // Improvisor // Visual Artist // Sound Designer




Elliott Lupp is a composer, improvisor, visual artist, and sound designer whose work often invokes images of the distorted, chaotic, visceral, and absurd. This aesthetic approach as it relates to both acoustic and electroacoustic composition has led to a body of work that, at the root of its construction, focuses on the manipulation of noise, extreme gesture, shifting timbre, and performer/computer interaction as core elements.

Elliott has received a number of awards and honors for his work, including a 2019 SEAMUS/ASCAP Commission, the 2019 Franklin G. Fisk Composition Award for Chamber Music, and Departmental and All-University awards in Graduate Research and Creative Scholarship. His music has been performed at a variety of electroacoustic festivals including N_SEME, CHIMEfest, Electronic Music Midwest, MOXsonic, Fulcrumpoint New Music Project, SEAMUS, and Electroacoustic Barn Dance, and by such ensembles as the Dutch/American trio Sonic Hedgehog (flute, clarinet, and electric guitar), the Atar Piano Trio, Found Sound New Music Ensemble, various members of MOCREP, The Chicago Composer's Orchestra, Fonema Consort, and Ensemble Dal Niente.

PhD - Northwestern University (currently pursuing)

MM - Western Michigan University

BM - Columbia College Chicago


Recent Works

The first in a series of experimental pieces for I-pad controlled laptop.

Reading by: Ensemble Dal Niente

 Amanda Deboer Bartlet - Soprano, Mabel Kwan - Piano, Tara Lynn Ramsey - Violin, Matthew Oliphant - Horn,

Hammered-dulcimer - Elliott Lupp

Performance: Dec. 5th 2018

Composed for and performed by: Found Sound New Music Ensemble (Holli Wittman, Molly Hodson, Samuel Kelly)

Electronics performed by: Elliott Lupp